House, Senate Republicans Announce 2016 Team

Press Release

House, Senate Republicans Announce 2016 Team

Strong Candidates to Bring Voice of Minnesotans to Capitol and Act as Check to Dayton Agenda

St. Paul- House and Senate Republican Leaders announced a strong team of candidates Tuesday at a mass filing event. Speaker of the House Kurt Daudt (R-Crown), House Majority Leader Joyce Peppin (R-Rogers), and Senate Republican Leader David Hann (R-Eden Prairie) were joined by candidates at a press conference prior to a mass filing for Minnesota legislative seats at the Secretary of State’s office.

“In 2014, House Republicans restored balance in St. Paul after two years of all-DFL control. We have fought to provide a commonsense voice for Minnesotans at the Capitol and act as a check and balance to the Senate DFL majority and DFL Governor Dayton. The House Republican majority stood up for the middle-class by bringing government spending further in line with family budgets and championed issues aimed at improving the lives of hardworking families, aging adults, and students. Our 2016 candidates will bring valuable perspectives to St. Paul and we look forward to having them join our majority caucus in 2017,” said Speaker Daudt.

“The Republican candidates stepping forward to run for the Minnesota Senate are leaders in their communities who are ready to put an end to years of failed Democratic leadership,” said Senate Republican Leader Hann. “We have accomplished mayors, veterans, minorities, moms and dads, union members and business leaders eager to change the way things are done in St. Paul by putting public service above self-service.”

There are 161 days before Election Day and House Republicans are working to maintain and grow their majority while Senate Republicans need six seats to earn the majority in November. House Republicans will field candidates in at least 130 House Districts, with Senate Republicans fielding candidates in at least 64. The Minnesota Senate and Governor’s office are both currently controlled by Democrats. The deadline for filing Tuesday, May 31, 2016.

Connect with MNHRCC